The Ministry of Law and Justice is a prominent Ministry of Government of India. Under the Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules of 1961, the Ministry is vested with the responsibility of (i) administration of legal affairs, (ii) justice, and (iii) legislative affairs in India.
It is one of the oldest Ministries operating in India. Earlier, in terms of the Charter Act of 1833 enacted by the British Parliament, the Legislative power was vested in a single authority namely the Governor General of India. The Governor General enacted laws for the British India until 1920. The Government of India Act passed in 1919 vested the legislative power to the Indian Legislature constituted thereunder. Since then the Ministry of Law has been functioning as the sole repository of legal functions of the Government of India. .
The Ministry is headed by a Cabinet Minister. Presently the Ministry is headed by Mr. Veerappa Moily. The longest serving minister of this ministry in the history of India was Ashoke Kumar Sen who is regarded as the patriarch of Indian law and justice. .